So much has changed. I've realized I'm a terrible blogger because it's been almost 4 months since my last post and it's not because nothing is happening. I'm going to keep it up though because I have put this web address on our save the date cards and will put them on our invitations.
First of all, Matt and I no longer go back and forth between Omak and Spokane. We moved into a house together in Spokane Valley in August of this year. I have a new job in DeSmet, ID as a middle school teacher. It's an hour commute one way but it's worth it so Matt and I can finally settle down together. We've been a long distance couple for practically our entire relationship so this is a big deal for us.
My job keeps me very busy but, lately a lot of things have been happening for the wedding and I feel like the pieces are falling into place.
Number one is that I bought my wedding dress. On October 29th my mom and Holly came into town and we met up with Veronica at Mossuto's Bridal in Spokane Valley. I was very excited. I had read up on all the things to be ready for and what I should wear and bring. I did my hair and showed up to the appointment I had made weeks earlier. I was the only customer in the store and was assisted by the one and only Mary Mossuto. The selection seemed small but the prices were way under what I expected so I was pretty excited. I picked a few dresses with some help and went to the dressing room. the next hour or so was completely TERRIBLE! I put on dresses that otherwise may have been wonderful but fueled by Ms. Mossuto's comments on my size, what is in fashion, and how it would all look awful on me it was a disaster. By the time we left I was in tears and felt like my wedding dress shopping experience would all go down the tubes. I had a second appointment at Celestial Selections in the Valley so we went on to give it another try. I now had more bridesmaids with me so I was just praying I wouldn't be embarrassed at this store. Samm was the woman who helped me this time and I could already tell things would be better. She was getting married too and had just gone through picking a dress for her body type and I knew she wouldn't make me feel bad about not wearing a mermaid-style fitted gown. While I was talking with her my mom, Holls, Veronica, and Amanda had already gone through and chose dresses they wanted me to try on. Honestly, there wasn't even an opportunity for me to look at them and choose what I thought I wanted because they used up all my clips! =-) So, I began the process over again. The first dress I put on felt so wonderful and I finally felt like a bride. It made us all cry a little bit. I kept going and I tried on many more dresses. Once I got through my family and friends' picks I chose some of my own. Some of the dresses were amazing, some were just okay and others were ridiculous but I had so much fun regardless. I didn't want to leave. I had scheduled a break for lunch between this appointment and the next one but I kept going right on through it. Finally, I felt the rush of getting to my next appointment. I tried on the last dress and we all thought, "This is it." It was my dream dress from the time that I was probably about 18 years old. I honestly didn't think I would find anything like it. It was white with silver beading and in the halter top style I thought I always wanted. I actually had to ask Katie if it was the same as her dress because I remembered it was the same style and she had bought her dress at that store (it wasn't). So, I got rid of most of the dresses in my dressing room except the very first one that had made us all cry. I wanted to make sure it was just the feeling of being treated well and having fun that made us all love that first dress. So, I put it on one more time and we all realized that it wasn't just the great service and the feeling of the "first dress" that did it. It was _really_ the one. Once we got the headpiece and veil on everything came together. I decided right then and there that it was my dress. This is the gown that I will get married in. To be honest, it was a little out of my budget but I decided that going $300 over for the perfect dress was worth it. We stayed a little longer to take measurements, make a down payment, and go over the details. My sister cancelled the three other appointments I had made and we concluded the day with lunch at Boston's. Not a bad day all things considered.



Leave a Reply.