Things have been so exciting lately. I'm still working on those little details but they're coming together so nicely. I'm even getting a little better at delegating. I had a Do-It-Yourself party earlier this month. Some amazing women came over to my house and pretty much got all of my DIY projects finished. My friends and bridesmaids Laina, Katie, Jaime, and Arleen addressed all the invitations, put together all the welcome baskets for the lodge, hole-punched the programs, and decorated the centerpiece vases. It was the most productive day ever! I had so much help and it made me realize how much I actually needed. For some reason I was thinking that I am superwoman and I can do it all myself. Thank God for friends that know me better than I know myself!
Last weekend I went to another friend's wedding. It was so beautiful. I think it was the only wedding I've been to during my engagement period. I saw the ceremony and reception from a completely different viewpoint. I really took notice of the decorations, the order of the ceremony and reception, and the deejay. Since I have a meeting with my deejay in one week it was a huge help to see how smoothly this wedding went. I noticed things that I liked and would like to implement in my own reception like the order of cake cutting, special dances, and bouquet and garter tosses. I also noticed things I wasn't such a big fan of which were just certain things this deejay did that seemed unnecessary. Plus, I cannot stand the Chicken Dance and I REFUSE to have it at our reception. I'm sorry for all you Chicken Dance fans but you'll have to get it elsewhere.
Another big thing worth mentioning is that Matt and I got our honeymoon plane tickets last night. I'm pretty excited now. I wasn't super thrilled before because the location is not my dream honeymoon venue. However, we have received an amazing gift from one of Matt's family members and we are able to stay for a week in their time share condo on the beach at Destin, Florida. I started looking into some activities available and it made me feel so much more excited about it. We are going to rent jet skis, take a moonlit wine tasting sail, and even Snuba (that's a cross between snorkeling and scuba diving)! I know that we are going to have an amazing time. I can't wait to go but for now it's back to tying ribbons on ceremony programs and arranging for pick ups and returns of all the rental items. Until next time...



Leave a Reply.